Greg, Poly and Siouxsie

Jarvis Cocker on 6 Music said this was his favourite Christmas song, and who am I to disagree:

A few days later, on Christmas Day, as I was preparing the cockerel (tried for the first time last year – we found it ticked all the right boxes for the Christmas bird) for the oven, I had 6 Music on again, which introduced me to this catchy little number:

(There’s a pop-up 2-3 seconds in which may pause the song – click top right to close the ad and stay on Black Christmas)

I assumed this was an old song that I had – unaccountably – missed. Wikipedia filled in some gaps: Poly Styrene issued it in November 2010 as a prelude to a release of further new material in 2011. I also learnt:

– The song is inspired by a killing spree in Los Angeles instigated by a man dressed as Santa Claus.

– It is not the case (as previously thought) that Mr & Mrs Styrene christened their daughter Poly: her real name is Marianne Elliott-Said.

– Her father is a dispossessed Somali aristocrat.

Sadly I already knew that she had died earlier in 2011.

If you look up Poly Styrene on youtube, you are only a hop, skip and a jump from Siouxsie and the Banshees, and I couldn’t help but wonder if I might find this among the early gems:

Further – ahem – research yielded this extraordinary version:

Thank yous are due both to 6 Music and to my family for taking a day out at the shops…

Leave a Reply

