From order to chaos

So we have – or rather had – 1.5 kg of Natco fine cornmeal sealed in its packaging, sitting on a stool in the back room. Not in the pantry – because this particular cornmeal had been specifically commissioned to make its way 175 miles to our daughter in Bristol – for reasons which – now that I actually come to write this – are not entirely clear. Is the west country a cornmeal desert I hear you ask ?

The said cornmeal had been happily sitting there for several days.

As my mother would be the first to say – animals are unpredictable. So who knows what inspired Suki – for it must have been she – to investigate the possibilities, and to find out just how interesting it would be to do away with the neat packaging, and see just how much disorder could be created by locating the cornmeal on the outside.

Well the answer to the disorder question is: plenty.

Luckily we do have a ‘pet-friendly’ vacuum cleaner – although I’m not sure this is what Miele had in mind:

It has actually vacuumed-up quite well, but I received three notable shocks – which I hope were static – rather than the other kind – and the poor cleaner will never be quite the same again.

I adopted best practice on dog psychology, resisted the temptation to go bonkers,  and contented myself with looks so withering, that she won’t be doing that again in a hurry…

One thought on “From order to chaos

  1. I lold. And yes, the west country is a cornmeal desert, I swear I haven’t been able to find the stuff anywhere. Not that I’ve looked with a huge degree of perseverance.

Leave a Reply

