Turbulence

This refers to my Open University maths course on fluid mechanics, for which I am now in the home straight: final unit and assignment started, exam looming. This year’s shift from postgraduate to undergraduate study has been a welcome step in the right direction, but MST326 has still proved pretty challenging.

My final unit is on boundary layers and turbulence, and it appears that I’m not the first to find it difficult, as demonstrated by this 1932 quote from fluid dynamicist Sir Horace Lamb:

I am an old man now, and when I die and go to heaven there are two matters on which I hope for enlightenment. One is quantum electrodynamics, and the other is the turbulent motion of fluids.

And about the former I am rather optimistic.

Leave a Reply

