Moving Out

Yesterday’s Pick Of The Pops was from May 1977 and included Carole Bayer Sager’s (only) hit: You’re Moving Out Today.

Today I drove two lots of 180 miles to help daughter L move out of her student flat in Portsmouth. A highly symbolic moment as she has just finished her degree. Now L has no forty-fives and not one cassette – let alone 61 – but the song fitted the moment perfectly.

70s pop is ubiquitous: it’s easy to assume that the youtube generation has heard it all. When I tested L with the name Carole Bayer Sager it was unfamiliar, so we enjoyed a rather tinny rendition courtesy of her smartphone.

Before today I’d have said I was no great fan of Father’s Day. But there’s been some interesting commentary about fatherly matters on the radio – and I’ve actually had a pretty good day. In fact – running this errand for my daughter – being a dad – was a great way of spending Father’s Day.

On the run back in the car, (Radio 2’s) Johnnie Walker was good enough to play Hong Kong Garden (Siouxsie and the Banshees). And when I got home I was pleased to receive a genuinely laugh-out-loud card from daughter J.

Leave a Reply

