Bleak Expectations

Over the years I’ve caught occasional snippets of Bleak Expectations, a Radio 4 comedy. Five series have been broadcast between 2007 and 2012.

I decided recently to track it down – leading me to buy Series 1 (six 30-minute episodes) for a very reasonable £2.99. Hugely enjoyable and great fun. Plenty of great lines, and I have got to know the main characters: Philip (‘Pip’) Bin, Mr Gently Benevolent, Harry Biscuit, Jeremiah Hardthrasher, Mr Skinflint Parsimonious – among others.

Now nearing the end; will definitely look up Series 2.

Favourite line so far:

I’m in love you know. Have you ever been in love ?

No – but I have been in Hove.

Is that similar ?

Roughly – but love has no pier or old people.

Leave a Reply

