Gresham College / human rights

JF told me about free lectures offered by Gresham College in London. I usually opt for a mathematical topic, and go for a 6pm lecture at Barnard’s Inn Hall, very close to Chancery Lane tube (other times and locations are available).

Earlier this week the subject was human rights, prompting me to investigate the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. Parts of it were familiar in a way, but I don’t think I’d actually seen the whole thing before. And although I knew it was a product of the aftermath of World War 2, I was pretty hazy on its origins and status.

Human rights attracts an unreasonable amount of negative press these days, so I don’t think it hurts to revisit some of the history, as helpfully summarised by wikipedia, and to read the full text, available from the United Nations.

Leave a Reply

