Night of the Proms – Manfred Mann – Mighty Quinn

I tend to think of Manfred Mann as a 60s singles band. My mental picture includes 70s hits from Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, especially Davy’s on the Road Again, and Blinded by the Light. I know they’ve been through several line-ups but I’ve never really made sense of who’s who. In fact I’ve only just discovered that the band was named after South African keyboardist: Manfred Mann.

I do know of Mike d’Abo but mainly in association with the original 1970 recording of Jesus Christ Superstar, in which he plays Herod.

I’ve never heard of Chris Thompson, who leads here. He was in the band in the mid 70s and has collaborated with a huge range of artists – from Filthy McNasty to Mike Oldfield

Leave a Reply

