The trouble with youtube (2 of 4) – Peter Sarstedt

Link two in a chain of four.

Top of the Pops – late 60s – black and white. Several youtube suggested links including this that I’ve always thought rather special, and another rare case of a song recalled from childhood.

Peter‘s middle name is Eardley, he was born in Delhi, he’s still going strong age 72. The song was not written about Sophia Loren, but a girl he met in Vienna in 1965, who later died in a hotel fire.

At the time most of the song’s references would have been unreachably exotic. These days I can say that I can’t stand brandy, I could get myself to Saint Moritz if I really wanted to, but I’d still struggle to tell you anything about the Aga Khan

Leave a Reply

