Bands that passed me by: Leftfield

Leftfield were active from 1989 to 2002, and released their two main albums – Leftism, and Rhythm and Stealth – in 1995 and 1999 respectively. We can safely describe them as a band of the 90s. Now I sometimes observe that my knowledge of 80s music was disrupted through travelling. But how to explain my total ignorance of Leftfield ?

In some ways the 90s are more elusive than the 80s. Those travelling years are more vivid. It’s interesting to think that in the later decade I was in my 30s, the girls were little, and I was struggling to make my way in the unfamiliar world of work.

As is often the way I have 6 Music to thank for playing this

Wikipedia links to Leftfield and Original.

Leave a Reply

