Something more mainstream

That said this probably counts as reasonably obscure – if anything from Abba could be so described.

I know and admire all ‘early’ Abba tunes, but it’s been a while in some cases. So when this came up on Ken Bruce a few weeks back I instantly recognised it as Abba – but it sounded so fresh and contemporary I thought I must be listening to a new cover version. This seemed reasonable given that Abba are enjoying a bit of a revival – prompted by the fortieth anniversary of their Eurovision victory.

I was surprised to find it’s the original 1973 version as released on 1974 album: Waterloo.

There is a small problem with Abba on youtube. There are plenty of clips – but they do tend to revolve around 70s-era photographic montages. So even as a lifelong Abba fan I do find most of them to be just a bit cheesy – hence I’m going with this format

Leave a Reply

