tank fly boss walk jam nitty gritty

Here’s one that should be familiar, but isn’t. So when it came up on 6-Music at the weekend I instantly recognised the underlying theme from the Guns of Brixton – possibly my favourite Clash track.

But could I confidently name it, the artist, the year ? Did I know that Norman Cook had been involved ? Well, no – not really – to all four questions. Despite being such a winner.

Wikipedia tells me it was a UK hit in February 1990, a time when my mind was on other things. I was finishing up – for good – for the last time – in Japan. I was about to set off on a three-week journey from Kobe to Peterborough, via Shanghai, Beijing, Moscow, Warsaw, Berlin, Hook of Holland, and Harwich

One thought on “tank fly boss walk jam nitty gritty

Leave a Reply

