Kimbra & Gotye

Heard this on the car radio twice in recent days.

The first time I was on my own and it came across as sort-of-familar, not to mention good. I didn’t pay too much attention because I treated it as a Peter Gabriel song that I must have known but just couldn’t quite place.

The second time I was with daughter L and I said that’s Peter Gabriel isn’t it ? She put me right. No it’s an original from 2011. By Gotye. And it occurred to me that I had heard it then but just assumed it was part of Peter Gabriel’s back catalogue.

When I found Somebody That I Used To Know on youtube I was able to truly appreciate it for the first time. What a great song. What a fabulous video. I was also fascinated to discover that another blogger had experienced a near identical voyage of discovery

Leave a Reply

