Florence: a convert

I’m certainly aware of Florence and the Machine. I know they’re critically acclaimed and well liked by Indie types like me. But it was only until I heard this on the radio that I started to sit up and take notice. What Kind of Man remains the only song I actually know but on its strength I’ve bought tickets to see them at Alexandra Palace in September – a special spot I was taken to a few weeks ago.

This is a case study in a song whose meaning completely passed me by. I am swept away by the song’s drama, it’s driving power, stunning vocals, and simple strapline – but no clue as to what it’s about

Leave a Reply

