Marz

John Grant is a name that’s cropped up quite a bit on the radio in recent months, so I was pleased to hear this played by Mary Ann Hobbs as an eminently suitable post for this blog.

The significance of songs with lyrical depth tends to pass me by so all I hear is a pleasant song. Here’s a youtube comment that suggests what’s being communicated:

It’s about pining for a lost youth, all the lyrics are the flavours of sundaes that a sweetshop would make. It’s in the same genre as puff the magic dragon. Childhood is full of nonsensical, amazing and fantastic things and everything appears so fresh and new and exciting to a child, and it’s over all too quickly, so songs like this are simply a way to claw back a sliver.

Bittersweet strawberry marshmallow butterscotch
Polarbear cashew dixieland phosphate chocolate
My tutti frutti special raspberry, leave it to me
Three grace scotch lassie cherry smash lemon free

I wanna go to Marz
Where green rivers flow
And your sweet sixteen is waiting for you after the show
I wanna go to Marz
We’ll meet the gold dust twins tonight
You’ll get your heart’s desire, I will meet you under the lights

Golden champagne juicy grapefruit lucky monday
High school football hot fudge buffalo tulip sundae
Almond caramel frappe pineapple rootbeer
Black and white pennyapple henry ford sweetheart maple tea

I wanna go to Marz
Where green rivers flow
And your sweet sixteen is waiting for you after the show
I wanna go to Marz
We’ll meet the gold dust twins tonight
You’ll get your heart’s desire, I will meet you under the lights

Leave a Reply

